Dunton Bassett Parish Council

Serving the people of Dunton Bassett

Clerk: Helen Denton-Stacey
Dunton Bassett Village Hall
Bennett Hill, Dunton Bassett
Leics LE17 5JJ

Who we are & what we do

Dunton Bassett Parish Council. The Parish Council consist of six members who are local residents, supported by the Parish Clerk who works part time.

Parish councils make all kinds of decisions on issues that affect the local community. Probably the most common topics that parish councils get involved with are planning matters (they are statutory consultees), crime prevention, managing open spaces and campaigning for and delivering better services and facilities.

The Parish Council's responsibilities include the playground and other open spaces.

A parish council is a local authority that makes decisions on behalf of the people in the parish. It is the level of government closest to the community, with the district authority (Harborough District Council) above it in the hierarchy. As it is the authority closest to the people, parish councils are invariably the first place people will go with concerns or ideas. For this reason they are a vital part of any community.

Meetings of the Parish Council are held at 7.15pm on the second Tuesday of every month at the Village Hall.

What powers and duties do parish councils have?

Your Councillors

A councillor has a responsibility to:

• Attend meetings when summoned to do so; the notice to attend a council meeting is, in law, a summons, because they have a duty to attend.

• Consider, in advance of the meeting, the agenda and any related documents which were sent with the summons.

• Take part in meetings and consider all the relevant facts and issues on matters which require a decision including the views of others expressed at the meeting.

• Take part in voting and respect decisions made by the majority of those present and voting.

• Ensure, with other councillors, that the council is properly managed.

• Represent the whole electorate, and not just those who voted for you.

Stuart Glover
Chairman of the Council 2021-2022

Cllr Stuart Glover

4 Elfin Grove

Dunton Bassett

Lutterworth LE17 5LB

Cllr Kate Boden
Vice Chair of the Council 2021-2022

Cllr Kate Boden

The Old Manor Barn

Well Lane

Dunton Bassett

LE17 5LW


Cllr Anne Brennan

Cllr Anne Brennan

46 Coopers Lane

Dunton Bassett

Lutterworth LE17 5LH

Cllr Claire Hurford

Cllr Mrs Claire Hurford

15 Main Street

Dunton Bassett


LE17 5JN

Cllr Liz Smith

Cllr Liz Smith

48 Coopers Lane

Dunton Bassett

Lutterworth LE17 5LH

Cllr Keith Thrower

Cllr Keith Thrower

West Wynds, Lutterworth Road

Dunton Bassett


LE17 5LF

Clerk to the Council

Helen Denton-Stacey

Dunton Bassett Village Hall

Bennetts Hill

Dunton Bassett


LE17 5JJ

0773 4793986

Register of Members Interests

Councillors must abide by rules that apply to the disclosure of some business or financial interests. These are called "disclosable pecuniary interests" or "DPIs". DPIs include employment, ownership of land, and business interests in your parish. Other interests are usually non-pecuniary or personal interests.

All Councillors are required to register their 'disclosable pecuniary interests'. The Act requires the registration to cover the interests of the member's spouse or partner, or someone living with the member in a similar capacity, in addition to the member's own interests.

GDPR Compliance

Dunton Bassett Parish Council (DBPC) takes your privacy seriously and will only use your personal information to contact you directly in order to pass on notices which you may find useful concerning issues relevant to Dunton Bassett village.

We will only collect your email address if you ask us to do so via the comment box on the Contact page. Your name and email address is the only information we will keep and we will only contact you via this address.

We will not pass your personal data to any other individual or organisation and undertake to keep your details safe and secure. We will not give any information about our data base to any individual or organisation.

You can change your mind at any time by emailing clerk@duntonbassettparishcouncil.org.uk instructing us to remove your details from our database. Dunton Bassett Parish Council will then permanently delete your details from our database.

Should you have any questions concerning this or any other issue relating to the DBPC website, please contact the clerk at the address above.